Love Exists…

There was a time when the only thing I seemed to wonder about was love.

Does love exist?

Is it real?

If so, what is real-life love supposed to look like?

I wondered about all of these things, but I never seemed to get an answer. Instead, I answered these questions by raising more questions of my own, up to a point where all I did was create a complicated web of endless thoughts and ideas that needed some grounding.

I mean sure, love might exist and it might be special. But in no way can it be romanticised in the way that it is in movies.  Can it?

All of these questions remained unanswered until one day a friend of mine spoke to me about love.

“I get crazy jitters when I think about the person that I love…” She explained.

“…and my emotions seem to go out of control. I feel happiness, sadness, joy, pain and anxiety all at the same time. I think about the endless tears I shed when he causes me pain. I think about the slow pace of my heart beat when he’s not here. And I think about the fast beating of my heart when he is.  I think about the way I lose all source of rationality when he kisses me, and the contentment I feel when I hug him and can feel the rise and fall of his chest. I think about the elongated nights when all I do is dream about him being there with me. And I think about the way he makes me feel so special, as if there is no one else he’d rather be with. Sometimes I think I’ll go crazy because of my thoughts, because I can’t seem to think about anything but him.”

And when I watched her dazed expression as she finished, I tried to fathom what she might’ve meant by ‘love’, and I finally figured it out…

Love lingers in the crisp autumn air as you sit by the porch with your partner and when you make dinner together, working silently in sync as if nothing else could feel more natural.

Love is present in the way your partner looks at you when you wake up in the morning in your bewildered state with your messy hair, and it’s evident in the craziness in his eyes when you make passionate love.

Love exists in the softness of spring and the warmth of summer and in the rampage of heavy rain as it drums against your windowsill creating soft, silent waves.

Love loiters in the background of cute make-ups that follow small petty fights, and it falls down your cheeks in the tears that you shed for one another.

Love is alive in every moment that you spend together, whether good or bad, because love is what gets you through them both.

Love prevails in the trust that you form, because that acts as a foundation for your relationship.

Love remains when all else fails and when you feel like there’s no hope.

And finally, love exists because without it, you two wouldn’t.

One thought on “Love Exists…

  1. Dewin Nefol says:

    Hey Ruby, Namaste 🙂

    Your beautiful name was shared by a shining Moonbeam who inspired me to venture into the big smoke and view your lyrical wares virtually. I was told a poetic red rose spoke of Romance in a blog post centred on Love. So here I am adventuring south, and here too are your words left to warm and linger as might the sweet redolence of perfume become an indulgence by candlelight.

    What message might I take away from your foray into Love?
    What essence reveals itself in your freshly feathered Dove?
    Where might my eye tearfully cry, or else sense bliss and happiness?
    Where might my heart keened and sharp splice glint-edged with tenderness?
    Cutting deeper and deeper and deeper still, deeper and deeper into a hidden well,
    A Lava Lake of Liquid Love, an unfathomable ocean rippling high above,
    Her Star is a Romance a flaming Grail, fertile fecund her never-ending tale,
    An exotica ever fluttering her Butterfly stuttering on the brink of Passionate Fire,
    Overwhelming desire Petroleum Pyre, her yearning burning her glowing flowing
    Auriferous inky and gold: She brave and bold and poetically she waxes words lyrically,
    Upon her Blog melodically writing prose that grows in the heart of her rose,
    Upon a desk tinted blazing red, sacred colours of a her flower-bed,
    And the stone grown as a sumptuous throne for the Ruby who aches to be free.
    ~*~

    God Bess. Namaste 🙂

    DN

Leave a comment